Inbox Management

Helpful information on managing your Avochato inbox and useful features about compact feed, lifetime conversations and auto-close conversations.

General

To interact with your contacts in two-way communication, you will need to navigate to your inbox within Avochato and click on “My Inbox” or “All Messages”.

  • My Inbox: Lists all messages that have you as the conversation assignee
  • All Messages: Shows all messages with any user as the assignee

View Options

There are three different inbox views: Classic, Compact, Wide. Each view has a different interface.

Notion image
Notion image

Wide View & Bulk Actions

Using the checkbox on the left of the conversation, you can assign, unassign, add a tag, remove a tag, update the status, or add to a broadcast multiple conversations at once (Note: bulk actions are only compatible with Wide view, not Classic or Compact).

Notion image

Sort Options

The sort options allow you to filter the messages by longest wait time, most recent and oldest messages. The default sort option is most recent message.

Conversation Status

There are four different conversation statuses.

  • New
  • Open
  • Pending
  • Closed
Notion image

On each conversation, there is an Addressed and Unaddressed state. Read more about managing Unaddressed conversations here.

Lifetime Conversations

Avochato provides a switch called Lifetime Conversations, which keeps conversations with a given contact bucketed within the same "thread". With Lifetime Conversations, you are able to see the whole conversation history, not just the messages sent since the last time the ticket was opened or created. If Lifetime Conversations is turned off, each new conversation with a customer that is opened and then closed will be in a separate ticket. Settings > Conversation MGMT > Lifetime Conversations.

What happens to old conversations?

By default, conversation tickets remain open until you close them.  Even once you close them, they are never deleted -- they can still be viewed in two ways on the Messages tab:

Notion image
  1. Click Filters > Status > Closed to show all closed tickets only.
  1. Click Filters > Show Closed Convos to show closed tickets along with all other tickets in your messages tab.

Auto-Close Conversations

Under Settings > Conversation MGMT > Auto-Close Conversations, you can elect to have inactive tickets automatically closed after a certain number of days of inactivity.  Just like with manually closing tickets, nothing is actually deleted.

Notion image

What if you receive a text from a closed conversation?

When you receive a text from a closed conversation, it will change the status from closed to open. With Lifetime Conversations turned on, you will see the entire conversation history. With Lifetime Conversations turned off, you will only see the inbound text.

Opt-Outs

When a customer opts out of receiving messages (texts in STOP), you can no longer text that number. If this was by mistake or a contact would like to opt back in, the contact will need to text START.

You can manually opt out contacts by:

1) clicking on the contact name in the conversation view and then click Edit Contact. Next click Actions → Opt Out

2) going to Settings > Contacts > “Given Contact” > Click Opt-Out.

There is no way to manually opt contacts back in.

Global Opt-In

When this setting is enabled, if a contact is present in multiple inboxes on your account and decides to opt out, they will be opted out of all inboxes in which they appear. To enable this feature or if you run into any issues with opting a contact back in, feel free to contact us at help@avochato.com or send us a text at 415-214-8977.

How to Delete an Inbox

If you need to delete an inbox, you can email customer support at help@avochato.com with the inbox name and the request to delete.

Please note that deleted inboxes will no longer be accessible and the phone number will be released. We recommend that all Logs and Contact Data is exported prior to your request to delete an inbox.

 
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩